Pineapple Upside-Down Cake.

Hi! Welcome to the very first entry in my one-year baking challenge. I cheated! I actually baked this cake a few weeks ago, but I didn’t get round to post it earlier. I’m not really following my original plan (i.e. one thing to bake per week), but this is about fun, right? 🙂 This recipe is my first upside-down cake and there were at least a thousand things that could have gone wrong, and I’m definitely not what you call a baking guru. However, against all odds, it turned out great. I tiny bit on the rubbery side (on the second day), but hey, it’s a start.

I used the recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction, where she states that this is her favourite cake. Well, that’s quite a thing no? If a baker calls a cake her favourite that cake should be downright awesome. And it is. Diego, my boyfriend loves it too. No further explanation needed. A fruity summer cake perfect for early June.

Here we go.

Ingredients.

TOPPING
1/4 cup (60g) unsalted butter, melted
1/2 cup (100g) light brown sugar
sliced pineapple (I used 6 canned slices)
a few maraschino cherries

CAKE
1 and 2/3 cups (210g) all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (115g) unsalted butter, melted
3/4 cup (150g) light brown sugar
1/4 cup (50g) granulated sugar
1 large egg, room temperature
1/4 cup (60g) yogurt
1/2 cup (120ml) buttermilk
1/4 (60ml) cup pineapple juice (reserved from the can)
1 Tablespoon (15ml) vanilla extract

00 halle may 013

Preheat oven to 180 C degrees (350 F).
I used a 9-inch (23cm) cake pan.
Baking time: 40-55 minutes

Prepare the topping first. Pour the melted butter into the cake pan, sprinkle it with the brown sugar. Top it the pineapple slices and maraschino cherries to your heart’s content.

In a bowl, mix together the flour, the baking powder, baking soda and salt.

Melt the rest of the butter, and whisk in the sugars. Whisk in the egg, yogurt, buttermilk, pineapple juice, and vanilla extract.

Slowly mix in the dry ingredients. I tried my best but it just didn’t want to assemble, so I used a whisk. A little. I think this is the reason the batter got a little gummy. Next time I’m totally sticking to a spatula. Pour the mix over the prepared topping. Bake the cake for 20 minutes then cover it loosely with aluminium foil to prevent the top from burning. As I have an electric oven, I left it a bit longer without the foil. I only covered it when I saw it started to get brown on the top. Bake it for a full 40-55 minutes, until inserted toothpick comes out clean. I let it cool a few minutes and served it right afterwards. It’s the best on the same day.

Actually, it’s better to head over to Sally’s for the original description. 😉

00 halle may 015

I had some difficulty though…as always. I tried melting the butter in the micro and it exploded. A lot of mess to clean up. Now I know to check up on it a bit more often. Then, as I used a cake pan with a latch, the one that can be taken to pieces, the melted butter from the topping dripped all over the oven and it burned… next time, I’ll just cover the bottom with aluminium foil.
But I mean…just look at it! Isn’t it just gorgeous? Yay for Sally!

Upside-down cake…check!

00 halle may 021

Leave a Reply

