The Linzer Cookies that Failed Me.

or I failed them…

This is a sad story of failed cookies… I have to warn you not to use this recipe until I find the problem with it! Or find a better recipe. 🙂

I know. I cheated. I wasn’t going to bake until my Mom gets here. But we had been invited to Diego’s aunts’ to watch the Italy-Uruguay match, so I had to bake something, right? I thought not too long and came up with the idea of making linzer cookies. This is a cookie with Austrian origin, and they are fairly standard and often made in Hungary too. Justly so, having made them countless times I was totally sure of my success. Only, they turned out horrible! The batter didn’t want to come together and then stay together. First it was too wet then too porose… really? Well, I decided I would not take them to the party after all. So Diego got to eat them all. This was yesterday. Today, after letting them stand a little, they have actually improved. They are not so bad after all. I wasn’t going to post the recipe as it didn’t seem all right, but now I think I now why it didn’t work. I’m still angry with myself for messing them up. They were supposed to be for the party guests… 😦

You can’t get all that you want I guess…

Let’s see. These are our ingredients.

Recipe is based on Nosalty.

300 g all-purpose flour
200 g cold unsalted butter (cut into small cubes) – the original recipe forgot to add the word “cold”…
100 g confectioner’s sugar
1 egg yolk
1 sack of vanilla sugar (or 1 teaspoon vanilla extract)
grated zest of 1 lemon
1 teaspoon baking powder
150 g apricot jam (or any jam for that matter)

First mix the dry ingredients (flour, sugars, baking powder), add the grated lemon zest and quickly add the butter cubes. Work the batter a little with your hands and add the egg yolk. Continue to knead the batter until all the ingredients are well-incorporated and the batter comes together. It took me some time, maybe 5 minutes.

When done, wrap the batter in kitchen folia and put it in the fridge to chill for an hour.

Once ready you can start cutting the batter into portions, and rolling them out on a rolling board sprinkled with flour. The ideal thickness of the batter is 0.5 cm. If you find the batter too sticky just add some more flour. Oh boy, did I find it sticky! it was horrible. I had a really hard time rolling. The batter kept sticking to my rolling pin and the board, no matter how much flour I added. I blame the room temperatured butter… Then take your cookie form of choice (I went for hearts, obviously!) and make two types of cookies. One with ad one without a whole in the middle.

010

I know they are not so pretty but the batter kept falling apart.

008

Line them up on a baking sheet covered by baking paper, and bake them in a pre-heated oven (~170°C) for 10 minutes or a bit less depending on your oven. Keep an eye on the cookies and make sure they are not burned. After 10 minutes you might still find them a bit uncooked. Don’t worry. They’ll be just fine.

019

Let them cool to room temperature and glue the two types of cookies together with the jam. Then sprinkle with confectioner’s sugar.
Yields approximately 30 cookies. Of course, depending on the size of the cookies.

015

Voilà!

021

I really need to do this again some time. I also need to work on my baking vocab and writing down recipes. It’s a learning process. 🙂

Leave a Reply

