My Favourite Pancakes. (Crêpe-style)

Hi!

After this short blogging hiatus (I tried maintaining a healthy diet, and failed, and had my family visiting too), I’m back with a quick pancake I made yesterday. We ate it for breakfast, for lunch, afternoon snack, dinner, and even this morning. There goes my healthy diet… In Hungary, we have the crêpe-style pancakes. To be honest, I’ve never managed to make American-style pancakes ever. I think I don’t have the genetical code for it. I keep trying but they keep turning out horrible. One day I’ll succeed, I know.

These panckes are a huge hit in my family. They come from an age-old cookbook, which I can’t recall the title of, and therefore can’t give credit to. The recipe is being handed down each generation, and originates from my great-grandma’s time. My grandma is the goddess of pancakes. She can make budget-friendly ones or diet-friendly ones, even pancakes without eggs. I’m not a big fan of those, so I’ll just stick to this good old well-tested recipe. These are my favourite pancakes: they have a somewhat neutral taste (as there is not much sugar in them) so you can use anything to fill them, and they will never be overwhelmingly sweet.

(yields 12)
I usually double this recipe. What’s 12 pancakes? A joke?

1 egg
150g flour {I use a mixture of white (3/4) and wholemeal (1/4) flour}
300 ml milk
a pinch of salt
1 teaspoon sugar
100 mineral water (fizzy)
1 tablespoon oil (I used sunflower oil)

Mix the ingredients in the above order. Beat with an electric mixer until all ingredients are incorporated. If the batter is too thick you can use a bit more mineral water until desired thickness.
Leave the batter to rest a good 15 minutes.

Heat a griddle or frying pan over medium heat. Coat thinly with cooking spray or oil. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, tip and rotate pan to spread batter as thinly as possible. Cook until the edges look dry and bubbles begin to form (about 1 minute). Flip and cook on the other side too, until cooked through. Coat griddle/skillet again with oil for each pancake.
wpid-img_20140713_1502451
I like to fill them with Nutella or jam.
But the very best filling is cottage cheese. It’s to die for. Unfortunately, Belgian cottage cheese is nothing like Hungarian. 😦

For cottage cheese filling:
250g cottage cheese
zest of 1/2 lemon
3 tablespoons sugar
raisins to taste

Just mix until a bit fluffy, fill the pancakes and devour. 🙂

Leave a Reply

