Coconut Muffins.

I have sadly abandoned and mistreated this blog for some time, which simply cannot continue! In my defense, I have been trying to follow my low sugar healthy diet, but sooner or later I cannot help but sacrifice on the altar of my obsession, that is, bakery. I am also experiencing a weird phase of obsession with certain desserts, like flódni, a heavenly cake of Jewish origin, and countless Hungarian desserts. Certainly good ideas to execute in the very near future…

A few weeks ago, I had a terribly strong crave for anything with coconut. I get this all the time, though, so in this sense it was nothing out of the ordinary. 🙂 So I searched long and hard for the best idea to make use of my coconut flakes. I ended up on Nigella’s website, and found this fun and colourful muffin recipe. I have always loved Nigella and everything she was doing, but this particular recipe is not one of her own, but of the Nigella community. (Didn’t know that existed) Mind you, I personally found that it called for just a bit too much salt. Next time, I’m going to modify that. Apart from this slight imperfection, the muffins turned out really good with a great texture; and were devoured in a mere two days…by two persons.

apr 010 ed

I adore making muffins: no non-sense, easy, rustic, hand-mixed, wonderful, lazy muffins.

Ingredients:
for the muffins

1 cup unsweetened desiccated coconut
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
5 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon sea salt flakes (Way too much. Something more like 1/4 teaspoon..)
1 large egg
1 cup reduced fat milk (I used milk with 0.1% fat)
½ cup oil (I used sunflower oil)

for the topping

2 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons coconut
halved maraschino cherries

Method

In a medium bowl sift together dry ingredients except coconut. Set aside.
In a jug combine together egg, milk and oil. Add wet to dry and stir only until the dry ingredients are moistened, add coconut and stir again gently. Do not overdo. The mixture will be lumpy.
Spoon into muffin papers filling each half to two thirds full. If topping sprinkle on some mix and top with a cherry. Bake in a 190/375 degree oven for 20 minutes or until golden brown.

apr 003 ed

Leave a Reply

